Red as a Beetroot

But I still believe
I still believe
Through the pain
And through the grief

Through the lies
Through the storms
Through the cries
And through the wars

Oh, I still believe

I used to blush quite badly and uncontrollably in certain social situations. Another reason SA is not as simple as just feeling the fear and doing it anyway. I dont know why it stopped but I dont normally get it anymore. However at one stage it was so highly activated that I was starting to do it talking to anyone I knew including family and I thought i was going quite mad.

The advice on anxiety forums was to ignore it and carry on as if everything was normal. Again useless advice, for me, anyway. Ignoring a scarlet red face usually accompanied by sweating and a nervous awkward manner was like asking me to ignore a screwdriver stuck in my head. The other anxiety behavior was the cause of the blushing so it could not be ignored and yet I still speak and behave normally.

I think our mindset is a key to a lot of SA recovery.(yes I know, probably obvious.) Almost everyone in emergencies can overcome SA to a degree at least to ask for help. I have when dealing with family emergencies and so have other people on the SA website. An extreme example is King Charles I who had a bad stammer. Apparently when he was about to be beheaded he gave the best speech of his life with no stammer. Certain situations especially big ones cause the brain to act differently and the SA is pushed away as not as important compared to life or death.Sometimes getting angry helps but then we can come across as an agressive arsehole all the time to other people.

Maybe remembering that we and everyone we know are not going to be here forever and every memory is gone so quickly and before you know it we are at the end of our lives looking back, wishing we had done so much more. Caring about life but learning to not care about SA or what others think of us so much. After all it’s only usually the ignorant, stupid people and children who mock people with problems.

Leave a Reply

