Insomnia

Much of my insomnia and resulting anxiety is caused by outside noise. In an effort to do anything to sleep I have taken hayfever allergy tablets with alcohol,various painkillers and scoured the internet for sleeping tablets unavailable from the UK.(probably because they are banned!) The one time I saw a doctor he would only give me 1(YES ONE!) tablet as he did not want me to get addicted and his advice was pathetic so once again there is absolutely no point in even seeing him. So I became a semi/alcoholic. Nice work doctor! I remember once having a 3 litre box of cheap red wine by my bed which I would glug down at 3 AM in the hope it would knock me out. I hated the taste. I did not even drink until this insomnia started. I would have drunk my dogs urine instead if it had worked.

I also use ear plugs similar to these every night. I start to panic if I can’t find them.

and sometimes sleep with workmans ear protectors like these over the top.

Of course this can be very uncomfortable and means you almost certainly have to lie on your back. You get hot and sweaty in summer too. The head strap thing has also broke meaning I have to hold the ear cups on with an elastic headband which was originally an eye mask but is often so tight now it hurts my eyes and my vision is going.

Yes, all this just to try and get some sleep. It must seem quite mad to normal people but to the insomniac virtually anything is preferable to the hours of tossing and turning and anxiety and also the terrible feelings the next day.

 

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

2 thoughts on “Insomnia”

  1. I used to listen to music, podcasts and audiobooks with earphones to get to sleep. It sounds counterintuitive as your trying to block out noise but it worked for me. If you try it make sure it’s something interesting you’re listening to as if you find it dull you’ll lie awake thinking ‘wtf am I listening to’. Hope this helps. 🙂

  2. Thanks I have tried listening to rainfall on my mp3 and various therapeutic sounds before but not much seemed to help.

Leave a Reply

