Friends Indeed

I’ve just been looking on the friends in need forum which is a UK based forum for depression.the forum is so people can support each other and even meet up in person. I’m sure it happens. Most mental health forums have meets and some people really do make real life friends. However I’ve just read one post from someone who is having a terrible time and finished with “Can anyone offer a shred of hope?” Apparently not as it was posted over 2 weeks ago and not one reply. I wish I could help but my own life is a bigger mess than his and I went on the site looking for help myself.And of course this is why so many self help forums are completely useless as so many people feel ignored and this makes them feel even worse. They might as well become religious. I am sure it would offer more comfort in the long run and religious people in their area would probably be of far more help. Mind you he has posted an avatar of himself and looks even older than me and we know 99% of the internet is young people just looking for someone they fancy.

3 thoughts on “Friends Indeed

  1. I know the feeling of being ignored well. There are lots of internet stars on Twitter and Facebook etc, who get lots of replies all the time, but some others get no response. Lots of self-centred people around. We all need to be kinder.

  2. I have also often noticed that on self help forums that the people who often feel sorry for someone and offer advice still have no intention of being friendly with that person themselves even over the internet. It seems its a matter of just passing the buck. They insist there are loads of potential friends out there and yet appear to have already judged that person for them-self and want nothing more to do with them. people say one thing and do another all the time.

Leave a Reply

