Positively Tiresome

  1. Every night – before you go to bed, think back over your day and remember three good things that happened – things that went well, that you enjoyed or were grateful for. These can be small (e.g. a delicious sandwich or a child smiling on the bus) or of bigger importance for you. You’ll probably find it varies. Try doing this for a week to start with.

What absolute bullshit! I have seen this again and again on forums as advice for a positive mindset. How dare people demand you must have had at least 3 good things happen each day.  Today I spoke to no other human beings at all again. I did not enjoy any TV programs and could not settle or relax at all. I felt tense and drank too much again. It rained so I could not go and sit in the garden or go out. My dinner tasted OK, not great and I burnt another meal.  I did some housework and the washing. I used the internet and it left me feeling more depressed again. NOTHING ELSE HAPPENED! its like this every day of every week of every month with minor variations.  At what level do people not get it? Do they just assume that every human being has hundreds of great events happen to them every day by just being alive and they should be grateful for each?  if I did say these things to myself it would not have any effect anyway as I would not mean it as know its not true.

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

4 thoughts on “Positively Tiresome”

  1. I may be a wanker, but I’m not positive. I’ve given you the the things that keep me close to neutral. I don’t expect anyone to read what I write, so the writing stays somewhat pressure free. Many, if not most, people are narcissists so they never see anything beyond their own image, which leaves me somewhat invisible.

  2. Sorry, late night drunken ranting is not a good idea. However as I scour the internet looking at coping strategies so many of them appear as delusional or relevant to me as turning to religion. In fact I like religion better as it offers an afterlife. Science offers nothing and then says you should be grateful for what you have. Doing stuff is the hardest thing as I know from experience that if I meet people in real life they will not like me and not want to see me again and yet all anxiety forums promote meetups as a cure all.

  3. This definitely doesn’t work. It has the same circular reasoning as how thinking positive is the way to go. It’s as annoying as someone telling you to look into the mirror and say nice things about yourself. Makes me want to punch the person who said that in the face.

Leave a Reply

