I Speak in Pictures not in Words

“Memory is the treasury and guardian of all things.”
— Cicero”

Nene

My one great passion during these years of isolation has been photography. I am not particularly artistic and mostly take pictures to catalogue my travels throughout middle England and for the memories many years later. I can’t stand the super picky photographers who obsessively criticise every detail in others photos as if demanding total perfection and of course then pretend that the camera and expensive lenses are of no consequence when they themself have state of the art equipment. Size is not everything(in photography!)

I am never happier than out in the hills or countryside, preferably with as little people around as possible. Many of these pictures bring back strong memories, many quite emotional as I was often thinking about death. That of my elderly mother dying from old age and dementia or myself at some point in the near future if the worst comes to the worst. Yes, I am mental, and think about depressing things all the time,get over it. I started going to these places first because I had barely ever been anywhere ever due to anxiety and parents who never took me anywhere when I was young due to their anxiety and secondly in case I never had the opportunity again. I basically wanted to see some nice places before I died.

It was often hard as I never learnt to drive so had to arrange all travel via trains and buses which are notoriously unreliable and expensive in the Uk. Some places I visited with my sister on a special coach trip.Mostly I was alone.

There are so many places i would still like to visit and photograph but it’s become much harder over the last 3 or so years due to worsening mental health and also circumstances. However I still dream, and hope.

Leave a Reply

