Loneliness Kills

Loneliness is twice as bad as obesity for killing us early: Being isolated suppresses your immune system and knocks years off your life

Around one million Britons are chronically lonely and do not see people

I pretty much knew this already but it’s still stark reading. Of course what they dont say is that if you have mental health problems especially social anxiety you find it much harder to connect with anyone and when you do try nobody wants to be your friend anyway.  Then depression kicks in and you are too miserable to be liked. It’s now 11 days since I spoke to anyone for more than a sentence.

8 thoughts on “Loneliness Kills

    • Thanks Liberty. I am lucky that I have one friend but only see her every few weeks. The time alone can push me close to the edge sometimes.

  1. You have the right to express yourself as you are. You don’t need to edit it. Thank you for sharing this–it’s beautiful and heart wrenching, almost certainly because it comes from such an honest place. I don’t know how to help–I’m not sure if I even believe in giving help–but I know your post helped me and made me feel less alone in my own anxieties. So thank you for that.

    • Thanks WC,
      It seems ridiculous to me that people are supposed to feel ashamed for not having sex as if this somehow makes such people inferior and open to ridicule. After all its only purpose is to entice us to have children so the human race doesn’t die out. Loneliness is far worse.

Leave a Reply

