How do you see other people?

Time for the next question in that survey doodah.

  1. How do you see other people?

 

Mostly with apprehension I think. I once read of a mentally handicapped person living in medieval times who was very aggressive to strangers. That’s because his experience was of being ridiculed and disliked so much that he expected everyone to hate him and he would therefore only like someone once he got to trust them first. I realised that this was how I had been acting. I was used to being disliked and not fitting in from such an early age I had thus learned to avoid all strangers and distrust them. All my occasional friends have contacted me first as I was never confident about making the first move. Of course this makes a relationship much harder if not impossible as most females never chat a man up or make the first move. Although it may be irrational to see all strangers as potential enemies instead of friends I also think most people are far more judgmental than they realise and don’t really want anything to do with people they consider strange or having mental problems. Somebody once said shy people are hard work which I think is quite accurate and why most people would rather not bother dealing with them.

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

6 thoughts on “How do you see other people?”

  1. Hard work? Yes, I suppose. But also more modest. More sensitive. Better listeners. I think people can warm up more easily to shy people. At least I know I feel more intimidated around the loud, outgoing ones.

    1. Maybe, I think they meant they are too much hard work to get to know when they offer so little back in response. Of course there is a big difference between being shy and cripplingly shy.

      1. Yeah, I’ve been told by several people how “mysterious” I am, because of how little they know of me, from offering so little information about myself back. I do not know how to act more “open”.

      2. Yes, I also found it hard to be more open as I never went out or did the normal things other people did so had little to talk about.

  2. It is hard to get over our own assumptions about ourselves and each other. I think that might be the hardest fight of all, even harder than battling the demons without–ultimately assholes are dealing with their own asshole nonsense but the trick seems to be not internalizing it–tough! Let me know if you work that one out!

    1. I wish I could. One minute you are made to feel guilty for not doing enough and the next you should forgive and learn to love yourself. I think the majority of normal people live in a delusional fantasy world of what they would like to believe most of the time. For instance many dont believe in religion any more but if you bring up any theories of evolution based on human behavior they seem aghast as if that’s crap too!

Leave a Reply

