Have you ever had any kind of treatment for SA?

Next question.

6. Have you ever had any kind of treatment for SA?

No, I think many people are forced to get treatment as they are not working and on benefits. However I managed to work albeit in a low paid menial job for 20 years so it was not a priority. I was also confused and did not actually know what social anxiety was until I was in my late twenties. I would not have known what to say and would have felt ashamed and embarrassed to say I was shy to a doctor. My own mother saw our doctor for anxiety issues and panic attacks and was given some pills and told “They will probably not work anyway!” She was given no further help whatsoever. As far as I can see there are only pills to reduce anxiety and then CBT which has an enormously long waiting list on the NHS. I have also been appalled by some of the stories I have read on anxiety forums about people seeing their doctor and being treated with contempt or even anger as if their doctor had never heard of social anxiety and thought it a minor problem that they would just grow out of. I know of women who were told by their doctor that all they needed was a boyfriend and that would cure them of social anxiety!

 

Even now and if I had a friendly doctor and no waiting list for CBT I am still not sure I would want to see him. I have grave doubts about CBT. The idea that I would be expected to go and drink in cafes alone and just because I wasn’t beaten up this would give me confidence. Being asked to do stuff every week like speak to complete strangers and ask them random crap does not give me hope or confidence. Lots of this stuff only works without any nerves in the first place. If you do stuff with chronic nerves things usually go wrong and the nerves get worse. However so many people on anxiety forums have such chronic guilt that they smear anyone who is not fully optimistic of all treatment as cowards and not worthy of  recovery or a normal life.

5 thoughts on “Have you ever had any kind of treatment for SA?

  1. I have gotten treatment. The meds seem random and I don’t know how serotonin reuptake drugs you have to take before you move to another line of treatment; I have a volatile reaction when they even mention them now. I see Tom Cruise’s point about psychiatry, but I have my doubts about Scientology’s methods. I’ve never gotten CBT and I agree with your assessment.

    • SSRI’s aren’t even good for social anxiety–I have social anxiety disorder and tried them a few years back. It never worked. Now the studies are coming out that have evidence that, specifically, social phobia has symptoms due to increased serotonin in the amygdala rather than decreased serotonin that they assumed. So SSRI’s can literally make your anxiety worse or do nothing at all. It did nothing at all for me. The meds seem random because they are random.

  2. I tried CBT and it didn’t fit for me. Too much “homework” not enough addressing why my anxiety is as high as it is. CBT just assumes that every socially anxious person is that way because of classical conditioning, so it seeks to un-learn everything your brain has learned. Which is valid and for a lot of people it works, particularly if they have a reason behind their social anxiety (bullying, public speaking, whatever). I’ve been anxious since I was an infant so CBT did nothing for me. But I do get treatment with a holistic psychologist and in sorting out the rest of my life, I’ve noticed dramatic changes in my anxiety. I couldn’t hold a job to save my life and now I’m confident enough to start one again and stick with it. I’m pushing myself out of my comfort zone and since I”m beginning to understand the reasons for my social anxiety disorder other than “it’s just me”, it’s changed me a lot. I refuse medication for something I can push myself through and plus I don’t like side effects or long term effects. I found a method that works for me. It’s all about finding what works for you.

    • I had the problem as an infant, too. I have a theory that going from isolation due to a premature birth to a home with a hyperactive brother who did not leave me alone–may have caused the problem. Going between the two extremes with no capability to understand why.

      • That would make sense. CBT might not work, but other types of therapy can help. I don’t even know why CBT is still a thing. If they plan on keeping it, they need to get away from that mindfulness B.S. Well for some people it’s nice I guess. Never worked for me.

Leave a Reply

