Tooth Hurty!

scary_dentist_real_drill-700x450

So I ended up going to the dentist twice in two days as the first time he only had a good look around and booked me in for today to have the nasty tooth pulled out. He was friendly and the event was completely painless and yet today I still found myself uncontrollably going over anything I said that could have made me look like a strange weirdo. Did he really laugh with the assistant when I closed the door? Welcome to the wonderful world of social anxiety! I actually pretended to be dentist phobic to hide the fact that I am really people phobic! in fact I’m already thinking of cancelling my check up in 6 months time. Although I dont usually blush or stammer now I still feel and get awkward and cant make conversation very easily. I dont like him asking questions like Have you been busy? and Are you getting ready for Christmas?   (No, I am a weird loner and will no doubt be rocking backwards and forward on Christmas day afternoon and drinking to null the pain while thinking WHY ME?”)

Yes, I know they are only standard dentist questions to break the ice but I dont want to feel awkward about being unemployed, single and mad. Perhaps I should lie and say I work for MI6 and am doing undercover spy work in Tesco next week or  I live in a large house in Switzerland after winning the national lottery but that probably won’t work either. If it took such pain that I could barely eat or drink to finally force me to go to the dentist it easily shows why I have never had a relationship which I’m supposed to do voluntarily and allegedly even enjoy. Yet the pain of loneliness can be far worse in the long run.( although at least that doesn’t stop me eating cake!)

Leave a Reply

