Is SA actually part of a personality type?

Next two questions in the survey;

8. Is SA actually part of a personality type?

I am still not sure and I suppose it’s the old argument of nature or nurture. I have certainly felt more nurture as my parents had many attributes that I feel contributed to my anxiety but I think there is also clear evidence from animal research that we may also pass on behaviour traits from our ancestors so it’s probably a combination of both.

9. Is there anything you would like to change in society that would make things easier for you?

I think it should to be easier to visit your GP for mental health problems with just as much confidence as if it was a physical problem. It’s clear this still doesn’t happen from the replies on mental health forums and I also feel that training for many GP’s in mental health is still quite poor.There should be clear guidelines for treating people with depression and anxiety rather than the doctor blindly guessing and then doing anything he feels like. There is still a stigma attached to mental health which needs removing which even exists in the medical profession. I have read replies from several women on anxiety forums who have been told by a doctor, even therapist when they were younger that all they needed was to get a boyfriend and that would cure them of anxiety. FFS! Its as bad as people with depression being told to get out more or take a walk.

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

3 thoughts on “Is SA actually part of a personality type?”

  1. Its strange how there’s a stigma even in the medical community. I mean I would think that being a medical professional (i.e. physician) a person would be more understanding. I’ve been having some anxiety these last few months and when I spoke to my doctor about how it was affecting my school performance, he just sort of told me to worry less and be grateful for what I have because there are people in the world who have more to worry about. Although he did offer to connect me to a psychologist, these words really only just made me feel worse about being anxious. So I definitely agree with you – there needs to be better training and education provided on mental health for professionals.

    1. Thanks for your reply Neeti. Yes, it seems ridiculous that even some doctors seem to trivialise anxiety as if it should not really be a problem. This often makes us feel guilty as if we are worrying over nothing and bothering people and yet anxiety can lead to chronic depression and a host of other physical conditions, sometimes leading people into desperate measures. Yet whenever i see these problems mentioned on TV the first thing they say is go and see your doctor as if he/she will be kind, considerate and understanding. I wish!

      1. True. Well I guess they say to go to the doctor first to ensure that there’s no underlying physiological cause (eg. thyroid problems often can present themselves as depression). But yes, more understanding is needed.

Leave a Reply

