What do you worry about the most?

The final two question I answered for the social anxiety survey

  1. What do you worry about the most?

I think it’s way beyond simply fearing being alone in old age or not getting the ideal career now as I am probably too old anyway for any typical life and contrary to delusional motivational advice age really does matter to everyone.  My biggest fear though is becoming homeless due to no income and then having to contemplate suicide as a last resort to end further pain and humiliation. I watched some homeless people in a shelter for Christmas on local news tonight. I still see much prejudice and ridicule about homeless people as if they deserve it due to laziness or they are simply classified as alcoholics and drug addicts who refuse help or change and yet when there is any study on people in this situation they often have had long term mental health problems. Evolution and survival of the fittest rings true again.

 

11. Is there anything else that you would like to add that hasn’t been covered by these questions?

I’m not sure. Maybe asking people what things have been the most successful for them in helping with their SA and some of the things that have not worked or been the most damaging.

2 thoughts on “What do you worry about the most?

  1. That actually really opened my eyes to something that I’ve been dreading as well. It creeps up in the back of my mind…the feeling that no matter how much I climb the ladder at work, no matter how much I accomplish, it all could easily be taken away and I’m the same, I don’t have a “typical family”. I don’t have a real significant other that I can rely on. I have me and that’s the best I can do. I would like to answer your last inquiry directly if I may: The most successful thing that has helped me is meditation. You can’t have a panic attack if you’re meditating. It’s nothing special and it’s the only reason I’m not on antidepressants or going through the therapist cycle constantly. I know that last bit was more of a rhetorical statement but I dunno, just something to munch on I guess.

  2. Hi, thanks for your reply. I did try meditation but I cannot get anywhere quiet enough to practice. I once went to the middle of a wood and sat on a log to try but some dog walkers came along.

Leave a Reply

