Why are you still single?

Random youtube video of the day. I came across this youtuber as she was talking about anxiety and depression in another video. She’s very popular probably partly due to being very attractive.Most of the popular ones are.      Cute, attractive, funny, bubbly etc. My God there’s some kind of pattern for success on youtube! What? No fat old balding miserable men?  Anyone would think that people were picky and judgmental.

This one is 10 reasons why men are still single and yes , you guessed it coming in at no.10 which is about 4:40 into the video if you can’t be bothered to watch the whole thing is shyness!

“Or maybe it’s because you are just too shy. You know, nothing’s going to happen if you don’t grab the bull by its horns. It’s not attractive when men are really shy around women.”

I don’t piss my pants though(usually). I don’t know why this was added to shyness unless it’s to make the shy man look even more pitiful. I used to blush and stutter horrendously and have trouble making conversation but then I never had any hot girl come up to me and introduce herself either. I dont think many men do but then I never went to parties either and it strangely never seems to happen at bus stops or in Tesco. It fact no female has ever made the first move or tried to chat me up ever. Perhaps I am the world’s ugliest man or perhaps women are heaven forbid ….different to men in some ways apart from physically. Female and male life forms exhibit different behaviour in virtually every species of the millions of animals on the planet earth but let’s pretend humans are equal because it makes some people feel better!

You see the biggest problem for me was and I keep coming back to this is that everyone on anxiety forums, self help books, internet videos keeps telling you if you have social anxiety to go out and do stuff and what have you got to lose but then if I did I would be the weird loner at the party who would blush and stutter and that would make me disliked, ridiculed which would make me suicidal later and never want to leave the house again. I can think of some girls at work who really disliked( hated?) me for simply being shy and quiet. This made me more avoidant, avoid girls more, not determined to go out more. How many parties would I have had to go and stand in the corner blushing and stuttering and looking awkward before I got better?  The answer is irrelevant as doing something that does not make you feel better does not cure you of SA……….ever.

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

Leave a Reply

