A Winter Walk

As I have mentioned before I do like to walk and explore and especially in regards to photography. Unfortunately when my anxiety has gotten worse its the travelling to get places that becomes the problem. I dont drive so I have no option but to take trains and buses and the more you take the more that can go wrong. Last week whilst lying in bed during yet another insomnia episode I decided to get up and go back to the peak district as there was still some chance of snow and it was also due to be sunny all day, a very rare combination. The peak district is the only national park and particularly scenic area of the UK I can reasonably get to and back in one day and not spend a fortune. However even this required two trains and a bus and after a 30 minute walk to the train station it was some 4 hours later before I arrived at Castleton at 12.50PM.

 

My aim was to climb Mam Tor (below) which was once an iron age hill fort and walk along the ridge. Its a walk I have done several times before and one that offers some of the best views for not too much effort.

This is the view on the way up on the other side of the hill. Its the long and winding road to Edale with Kinder scout in the distance. I love old folk tales, myths and legends and one of my favourite is that here in the 1920’s  a large black creature caused havoc by killing local sheep and a howl like a foghorn was heard by the villagers who went out looking for the creature believing it to be a werewolf.

Its amazing that just being a little higher produces so much more snow when there was virtually none on the way here. This is the ridge line I followed. Though easy in the summer it became quite tricky with the ice and muddy conditions.

The view on the other side of the ridge is very different with hardly any snow and a quite ugly cement works sticking up out of nowhere. It was built before the Peak district become a national park as I suspect it wouldn’t be allowed nowadays.

I arrived home quite tired but it certainly helped me to sleep better that night. if only I lived nearer to the countryside. Living in the city is not good for my mental health.

2 thoughts on “A Winter Walk

Leave a Reply

