Self help? (Yes again!)

I was looking at self help and online support for depression so I visited the NHS website which came up on google first. I just came up with a score of 24/27 on how depressed are you but still doubt I would be taken seriously as I have made no suicide attempts yet.They have a list of helpful sites and organisations for depression so I went through them. Quite surprisingly the depression alliance doesn’t have a group in my city at all(one of the biggest in England) but the nearest is 22 miles away and I dont drive. Mind you with my SA there is no way I could speak in front of other people in a group anyway.

Next Sane, they have an online forum which may be worth looking at. However I have a bad history of online self forums and then people blaming me for not doing enough or acting in the right way. Its like the advice for getting on with people better on a shyness forum was to stop acting so shy. I wonder if they say stop acting so miserable on a depression forum!

Big White Wall. Looks quite good with loads of information. Then you type in your area and are told not available. Strange. I wonder what areas it is available .It doesn’t say.if its the NHS website they should really try and have organisations that are nationwide rather than just in a few cities.

Depression UK. Not really a lot going on but they do have a Facebook page.

 

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

4 thoughts on “Self help? (Yes again!)”

  1. I’m sorry to hear that there’s not a lot going on in the area in which you live. On the bright side, you’ve encouraged me to take a look at whats available near me. I’m tempted to try out a group kind of thing. Yet the idea seems terrifying. Have you tried one out for yourself?

    1. No, I nearly went to a local anxiety meetup but I think only 2 or 3 people go and my mum went into hospital the next day and never got better so I postponed and have never really felt like it since. I often feel too depressed to meet other depressed people and wonder if they would make me even more depressed. Good luck if you find something though.

  2. That’s an understandable attitude to have. The reason I am tempted as it could help with the isolation aspect of things. I’m fortunate enough to have friends with severe mental illnesses and we have a support network going on. Not that we will ever fully understand what it’s like to be in each others shoes. But it helps me remind me that I have is an illness I suppose, and not that I am some kind of freak.

    I hope that you find something that works for you soon. Take care and don’t give up!

  3. Yes, being with people you like whether friends or family is probaly the best thing you can do for mental health problems. Thankfully I still have one friend.

    Thanks again and best wishes.

Leave a Reply

