Anxiety V Depression

Do depression and anxiety fight each other making the combination uniquely placed to make recovery nigh impossible? If you are depressed they often advice meeting people like friends or talk to others yet I have no friends nearby and the anxiety makes any group speak in front of total strangers almost impossible. Like speaking in front of the class at school. God I still cringe thinking about Drama and English classes.

For social anxiety they also advise meeting people and yet you are then expected to smile and be positive and think of interesting things to say in order to bond and to make friends and yet the depression makes you as miserable as death, highly irritable and not interested in anything they say or do. Anxiety makes meeting strangers painful. Depression makes meeting strangers painful. Together they combine to make the perfect storm. The mental illness paradox. Got to be positive and happy to make friends, but I’m depressed! Got to be social to meet people but I am cripplingly shy! I can only imagine the awkward silences on some social anxiety meets! In all scenarios your personality makes normal people dislike you and never want to see you again making you stay alone, give up and get worse.  However normal people mistake depression for nastiness and shyness for being rude or not interested. How wrong they were. Especially some of the girls at work who I still remember and even now look up on Facebook. Now happily married with children of course. Oh the pain and the regrets and the feelings of it could have been me. And yet if I went back in time tomorrow I would almost certainly still be no better.

 

 

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

2 thoughts on “Anxiety V Depression”

  1. I think it helps to be genuinely interested in what the other person have to say. If they said something you can relate to, even if it’s just a 10% of interest/in common with you, grab it by its tail and continue the conversation in that direction. I generally dislike people before getting to know them, but once I get to know them a little, my perspective usually changes. Also, they can usually sense your discomfort/awkwardness but will be understanding. It’s ok to say dumb things and look uncool as long as you hold up a genuine/sincere outlook towards others. That’s all my personal experiences though.

  2. Yes, I suppose since I got made redundant I never come across people in real life very often now to try conversation with so I think my paranoia and negativity has increased a lot. Its easy to think everyone is the same. maybe using online forums has distorted my view as I have so few positive interactions with people.

Leave a Reply

