Inactivity

  1. Inactivity: A vicious cycle can develop in which you feel depressed, and then become less active (you don’t feel like doing anything). The less active you are, the more depressed you feel. If you’re having difficulty breaking out of this cycle, write out a daily schedule by the hour or even half-hour of what you will do when, and then stick to it. This will seem very difficult at first, but it’s enormously useful. Schedule a few walks around the neighbourhood or a nearby park. Exercise is a great depression buster.  

This is very true and has definitely happened to me over the last few years. I sometimes feel very much better if I have a good day out as I did towards the end of last week. However writing out a daily schedule is not evens something I have any concept of doing. Do I invent things to do just to keep busy,like polishing shelves at 2.30, cleaning the microwave at 2.45? As I dont work there are lots of hours to fill. When depressed even watching the TV or listening to music has very little benefit. Walking around my neighbourhood often increases stress and anxiety as its a shit neighbourhood and shit city. I should know as I have been waking around it for years. Demanding it helps just because it obviously does for some people does not help me. The idea that walking along busy streets is a depression buster is completely crap and no more enjoyable that shopping at the supermarket. This is probably worse after I got punched in the face once for walking funny.

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

Leave a Reply

