Minimizing

  1. Minimizing:Make sure you’re giving yourself credit for your accomplishments, however small they may seem. The only way to change behaviours is step-by-step. If you have difficulty recognizing all you have done, make a list of your accomplishments/progress. Refer to this whenever you start focusing exclusively on how far you have left to go.

Again all this advice seems so totally ridiculous as to be almost farcical. I go on the odd day out. Apart from that I do absolutely nothing and accomplish nothing. My life is one long failure. Yet more hypocrisy. People on the anxiety forums criticise you for not doing enough and with the famous phrase feel the fear and do it anyway and then next thing you are supposed to congratulate yourself for shopping at Tesco. All I do is shop and housework. What the F**k do I congratulate myself for? Having a particularly nice poo? I have also gotten much worse in the last few years. Looking at how far I have to go and how hard it would be makes me immediately depressed and think about suicide again.I would love to know if a therapist would give up on me when they find out how negative I am. A depressed person on the verge of suicide being negative? How surprising! Its pretty obvious to me that I would need help for depression first as almost all things connected to anxiety are almost impossible while feeling this alone and desperate.

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

Leave a Reply

