How Do I Get Over My Fear of Being the Centre of Attention?

1.Wear something flashy. Wear something that makes you stand out in a crowd.

Yes,great idea because people who look different dont get picked on at all do they? Shall I also do a silly walk due to a bad hip and then get punched in the face? I did not go out for weeks after that and when I did took a large pebble with me in case I was attacked again and then I would have probably killed someone. It made me way more paranoid. I have even seen the advise of going out with your flies open if you are a man! Why not wave my dick around while I am at it? Why does so much of this type of advice assume that almost everyone wont notice or mind. If you pass hundreds of people in a week and even the odd one says something or maybe even punches you that alone is enough to stop you going out at all and makes you worse. Verbal public humiliation still traumatises people and is why so many still remember things like being ridiculed in front of the class at school by a bad teacher even many years later.

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

5 thoughts on “How Do I Get Over My Fear of Being the Centre of Attention?”

  1. I could never have the courage to wear something flashy that’ll draw a lot of attention. I used to only wear black because I was afraid wearing bright colors would make people notice me more easily. Now I can wear colors that I like, but it’s not to impress other people. I don’t like being noticed at all, even if the person is looking at me for less than 2 seconds, but I tell myself the person likely won’t even remember me by the time he/she looks away and walks past me.

    1. Yes,I mostly dress in black or blue even now. I remember wearing a T shirt at work once with a some kind of pattern on it and even that got comments because its not the sort of thing I usually wore. So I never wore it again because it did get attention! Now its summer I wear sunglasses and a peak cap to hide behind.

      1. Yep it is strange to get comments about clothes you wear. Even when someone tells me, “I like your bag”, I am self conscious about the fact I am being seen and noticed by someone. I feel intimidated around people with sunglasses lol. It’s not really their fault because I perceive it as intimidating since I’m unable to see the person’s eyes when I’m looking at him/her. Then again, people probably get the same feeling when I’m the one wearing sunglasses and they can’t see my eyes.

      2. Oh that’s the reason I like to wear sunglasses as I can look at other people without them knowing!

Leave a Reply

