What Is Paruresis or Shy Bladder Syndrome?

“Paruresis is the inability to use public restrooms without any medical cause. Paruresis may also be known as urophobia, shy kidney, shy bladder, or bashful bladder syndrome (BBS). Paruresis is found in both women and men of all ages and when severe and untreated can lead to medical complications. “

I am not sure if this is worse in men than women as men often have to stand next to other men at urinals if there are no cubicles free. On the plus side when out and about men can pee in bushes and behind trees. I can use cubicles virtually anywhere but as men’s toilets often only have 1 or 2 and often they are out of use then going to the toilet can be a real problem and create more anxiety. I have never been able to pee standing up next to other men. Occasionally if the toilets are empty I can pee before anyone comes in but if there are other people around then I find it impossible.

The worst paruresis experience I ever had was when I went to a Bruce Springsteen concert a long time ago with a family member. First we went on a coach which took 2 hours. Then as the concert was at a football ground the toilets were absolutely full and the one, yes one cubicle was being used with yet more people waiting.  The concert then lasted over 4 hours and then a 2 hour journey home again. I desperately tried to wet myself as I stood in the crowd to relieve my discomfort but could not. I dont remember a thing about the concert as my bladder was my primary concern. Although I survived this put me off going to such an event ever again. I cant see any cure as they dont make any allowance for standing up next to other men pissing compared to being in a cubicle which I can do anywhere.

Author: klodo

I am male,English and have had social anxiety since I started school at 5 years of age. I like photography, walking, wildlife, history and moaning.........CONSTANTLY! Oh you must stop being so negative! Shut up!

Leave a Reply

