The “Passengers on the Bus” go round and round.

!

 

In acceptance and commitment therapy(ACT) they sometimes talk about the passenger on the bus metaphor and this role play supposedly illustrates how your negative thoughts influence your mind.etc etc.  Look at how enthusiastic every body is! Look at the positive comments on Youtube! Yet it makes me feel like vomiting and would certainly put me off doing this kind of therapy even if it was free and available tomorrow. Is this even any good for people with anxiety and especially social anxiety?

I cant imagine doing any role plays or exposures in my present state of mind.  I would just follow him around sort of mumbling and looking awkward as a passenger and giving no feedback whatsoever as I would not care or notice.  They might as well ask me to do a song and dance routine although considering some of the crap I have read about social mishaps I would not put that past them. Its as if in every one of these kind of videos the people say exactly what they want to hear instead of what would really happen as they are all hyper motivated. Would meds change my motivation? Perhaps a lobotomy would be better then at least I would not care any more.. I think this is why 9 out of 10 people with social anxiety dont go for help unless they are forced to and why they think CBT and other sorts of therapy are quite successful as only the motivated and enthusiastic people even do it. What therapy is there for negative, depressed and unmotivated people with social anxiety?

 

3 thoughts on “The “Passengers on the Bus” go round and round.

Add yours

  1. OMG. I feel quite horrified watching that video. Having thoughts in one’s head characterized by people yelling and shouting at you, would be enough to send anyone psychotic! I certainly would never go back to that kind of therapy! To be balanced however, the things they were shouting were real thoughts that socially anxious people have but the method that was used to recognize, and accept these was painful to watch. I don’t know any socially anixous persons that would be open to this kind of role play. To me, it is all about attitude in one’s head and challenging oneself when one is ready and has had enough of social anxiety ruling one’s life.

    1. I sometimes think you have to have a changed mindset perhaps after a major life event to even begin CBT therapy. But then you might need some kind of other therapy like counselling or just talking to someone first in order to be able to do CBT therapy in a positive way. After trying mindfulness I was starting to think in a completely different way and yet doing all these exposure tasks and role plays would probably send me even madder.

      1. I could see what the underlying principle of the exercise was, but the method was insane. It was stressful for me to watch those people harassing the guy even just to illustrate a point. And the lack of empathy of the facilitator who kept saying “fantastic” even in response to the person’s lament that it was stressful’!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

