School days

I think something else that screwed me up was going to a boys only school. I talked to girls like they were no different at junior school despite being quite shy but then going to a boys only school at age 11 changed everything. Its like suddenly we were a different species entirely. Our school was still next to the girls school and coincidently we merged in my 4th year as our schools were exact mirror images built together and connected via the canteen. Even so by this stage it was too late. We never mixed. Not just me either , I hardly saw any interaction. In fact apart from one girl asking if I had any friends I dont remember speaking to any other girl in the final 2 years of being there.  I did fairly well academically but then quit college after only two days anyway as I started to go mental. Five years of French for nothing. I might as well have licked the floor with my tongue for five years.

2 thoughts on “School days

  1. I get that. It’s legitimately like a social trauma. School can be like that for many of us, myself included. For me, a lot of mine was related to not being “like” everyone else, meaning I was the only person of my culture (or race, whatever people want to say) and that really disconnected me more from the world than I already was. And I was a pretty disconnected child. So I understand what you mean.

    • Yes, any difference is at that age makes things much more difficult. I was also quite overweight until my mid teens which didn’t help.Its a pity the teachers are never taught about the emotional well-being or mental health of students when it matters just as much as anything academic.

Leave a Reply

