Peace

monsal head

I feel quite down after events which I mentioned in last post and have been looking back over many of my older photos from past day trips. I had wanted to go back to so many places and discover some more but I do not expect I will now. However it sometimes gives me some comfort to remember past times. This is one of my favourite views in the peak district. Now its only a cycling and walking route as the railway was closed down decades ago. It was once the main route from London to Manchester and I imagine some people must have worked all week in London and came back on Friday evening and the relief of coming through the tunnel and out onto the viaduct across Monsal dale. However it also brought orphans on the trains who would have gotten off to work at the nearby mills. In fact Charles Dickens was supposedly inspired to write Oliver Twist due to the appalling working conditions at the time in nearby mills. I saw a youtube video only last week of a woman who now lives in the mill which have been turned into fashionable apartments and she said she had heard children singing in the night on several occasions.  Ghosts of the children who once worked there maybe. Its a reminder of the good and bad of mankind everywhere. Where now is peace and beauty was once misery and suffering.

8522374956_2de0db6cb4_b

4901049846_797305e3ef_b

Leave a comment