Friendly Friday Photo Challenge, Two Ways

This part of the Friendly Friday Photo Challenge hosted this week by Amanda at https://forestwoodfolkart.wordpress.com/2020/11/06/friendly-friday-photo-challenge-two-ways/

I edit almost all photos before I post usually on flickr. I quite like colour separation if the background is too distracting as it helps to differentiate . Here at Derby feste the coloured powder was thrown over everyone. At one point one of the performers turned around and towards me. Unfortunately its not quite in focus when zoomed in but I still liked it.

This was taken in the Peak district on the way home a few years ago. The sunset looked incredible over the winter snowscape but the original shot was far too dark due to the camera overcompensating for the sun. Often with sunsets I have two separate images, one of the sky and one of the land which I edit separately and then merge back together later.

Sometimes just being B+W works better especially with moody shots in a cemetery. Soft focus can also help.

2 thoughts on “Friendly Friday Photo Challenge, Two Ways

  1. Forestwood November 7, 2020 / 11:43 pm

    Wow – amazing edits. You clever thing, you. Taking two shots and then merging them is so smart. The colour separation on the colour powder event is really an excellent capture. And to see the winter landscape emerge with the slider. I wish I had of thought of that. I am now going to use in in some of my norwegian shots before and after lighting them up. What a great idea. Thanks, K.

    • klodo November 8, 2020 / 2:07 pm

      Thanks, Modern cameras actually take several images with different exposures and then merge them together which is why they look so much better. Its harder to do without a tripod as you have to alter the settings and them reframe the shot. I tried it yesterday at the cemetery but it did not work very well.

Leave a comment